Abstractie logo CAVA

About Us

Centrum voor Academische en Vrijzinnige Archieven (CAVA)

CAVA is the common name of the partnership between the University Archives of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) and the Centrum voor Vrijzinnig Humanistisch Erfgoed vzw (CVHE). The partnership is classified under the VUB and has the status of a scientific-logistic service. CAVA was founded in 2012 and offers the archives of both institutions to the outside world in one centre as this allows them to deliver better service to the archive creators and users. In 2014, CAVA was recognised as a cultural archive institution.

University Archives of the VUB

Logo VUB The VUB University Archives were founded in 1990. It is a service under the direct responsibility of the vice-chancellor and manages long-term archives stretching over approximately 3 km. The service focuses on the guidance of the administration (selection and digital born archives problems) and on the preservation and valorisation of the historical archives of the academic community. Recently, management of the institution’s scientific heritage was also added.

Centrum voor Vrijzinnig Humanistisch Erfgoed (CVHE)

Logo CVHE The non-profit organisation VSAD ‘Karel Cuypers’ was founded on 17 April 1986 with the aim of scientifically supporting the secular movement in Flanders and preserving and valorising secular archives. VSAD was originally located in Antwerp, but with the cooperation agreement, the administration and collection were transferred to the Oefenplein campus of the VUB. Today, the association lives on under the umbrella of CAVA and the name ‘Centrum voor Vrijzinnig Humanistisch Erfgoed’.


Board of Directors

  • Prof. em. Michel Magits (VUB), president
  • Suzy Mommaerts (VUB), treasurer
  • Michel De Rouck (VUB)
  • Annie Hermans (deMens.nu)
  • Sylvain Peeters (deMens.nu), vice president
  • Yves Van der Hoeven (VUB)
  • Mario Van Essche (deMens.nu)
  • Alain Vannieuwenburg (deMens.nu)

Scientific Board

  • Christophe Busch (Hannah Arendt Instituut)
  • Prof. dr. Gily Coene (VUB)
  • Niels De Nutte (deMens.nu)
  • Dr. Christoph De Spiegeleer (Liberaal Archief)
  • Em. prof. dr. Willem Elias (VUB)
  • Dr. Nadia Fadil (KU Leuven)
  • Dr. Katleen Gabriels (Maastricht University)
  • Dr. Bert Gasenbeek (Humanistisch Historisch Centrum)
  • Dr. Adelheid Rigo (Odisee)
  • Prof. dr. Patrick Stouthuysen (VUB)
  • Prof. dr. Floris van den Berg (Universiteit Utrecht)
  • Jan Van den Branden (deMens.nu)
  • Dr. Donald Weber (Amsab-ISG)